At Home in My Skin at Last

Must be getting really old, I’ve been so reflective lately. I guess seventy-six qualifies. Off and on through a lot of my life, I have not been very comfortable being me, sometimes downright miserable about being me. Realized tonight, even though I haven’t set the world on fire, I haven’t burned it down either. And though there have been hard times because of circumstances, there have been more good times than bad. I’ve learned a lot about human being.  And quite a bit about God.  And some really encouraging stuff about God and human being.  And even though I’ve gone through some really dark inner times, I have had lots of fun, lots of pleasure, lots of love both given and received, quite a few times of sheer mind blowing joy, and in my sixties and seventies, probably more laughter than in the first 60 years of my life. Even if I could magically go back and swap circumstances, or even get to be somebody else, I don’t think I would want to. I guess even though I don’t have too many illusions about myself anymore, I’ve just gotten used to being me, kind of like a pair of old house slippers, frayed around the edges, but too comfy to throw away. Amazing grace!
(Small print addendum: Wouldn’t mind some memory repair however.)

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on December 18, 2013, in B4Peace, Forgiveness, Gifts of Age, Healing, Love, Parenting, Personality, Shameless Self Promotion, Spiritual, Suffering, Teaching/Learning Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Amazing grace indeed! May the joyous laughter continue in abundance Eileen. Thank you for sharing. Blessings, Gina

  2. Eileen, I appreciate your patent honesty and self-knowledge. I believe you deserve much louder tooting of your own horn. Shine on! xo

  1. Pingback: Shifting Gears [2] | livelytwist

Leave a Reply

