Becoming a Part of Peace

I belong to a group of bloggers, “Be 4 Peace.” At least once a month we post a blog relating to some aspect of peacemaking.
Now, one of our group has encouraged us to pray, chant, send peaceful thoughts, whatever anyone does along those lines, for peace.
We are focusing on peace for ten minutes on Sunday evenings between 7pm and midnight in our time zone.
We are hoping to encourage others to both join us and share this idea with friends.

I am a woman of just a little faith, so I have to start with myself. Then as I, myself, open up to the grace to be more peaceful, it gives me hope for others on a progressively larger scale. My dream is that adding my tiny mustard seed of faith to others’ will help create an ever growing tree of faith for peace.

There are as many ways to participate in this, as there are people. I only share mine on the chance that it will help someone else get started.

I start by saying or thinking repetitively for several moments, “Lord have mercy on me. Christ have mercy on us. God heal our broken world with your peace.

Then, I reflect on where I am not at peace inside myself, pray for grace to, with my will, let go of the cause.
Next, I think of any relationships I have that are not peaceful, and ask God for insight into how I might see things differently; I pray for healing of hurts and the relationship; and then ask for God’s love for the others involved.
Next, I pray for healing for friends and family that also have broken relationships with others.
Then, I pray for enlightenment for world leaders, so they will seek peace.
Then, I ask for the peace that passes understanding to come into all hearts.

We invite you to join us in your own way in seeking peace. We set Sunday evenings between 7pm and midnight as a way to help ourselves actually do this and to increase our hope by knowing others are joined with us.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on June 17, 2013, in B4Peace, Forgiveness, Healing, Love, relationships, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Urrgh, I missed the first collective prayer sunday. I will be there next week. I love your peace prayer, Eileen. I think I will use it next week. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

    • Kozo, Thanks for you many kind comments and for valuing what I say. I think it was a small miracle that I remembered on Sunday…….remembering things is not a strong point of mine.

  2. Beautiful! Reminds of me of this quote: Be the change you wish to see in the world. Thank you for making your contribution to Peace in the world! Much Love to you! xoxoox

  3. Lovely prayer–so glad and grateful that you not only joined but shared the info and this prayer. I’m in mobile mode so I can’t see tags but I hope you put the CollPraySun tag on it so others can find the prayer!

  1. Pingback: The Peace of God… | Spiritual World Traveler

  2. Pingback: Collective Prayer Sunday Challenge and News | Notes from the Bluegrass

Leave a Reply

