More Perils of Eileen, A Dreamer in the Land of Reality

More Perils of Eileen, A Dreamer in the Land of Reality

I scalloped my bangs this morning. Maybe, more like ravaged them.
When I peered through the white forest to look in the mirror, I could only see the bottom half of my face. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find my hair cutting scissors. (Where is Edward, when we need him?) So I used my kitchen scissors. They don’t really cut, but they do chew. And they added a slight aroma of garlic and onions.( I may have packs of hungry dogs following me today.)
I started to get distressed over the results, but then I realized that the “ragged” look is in. For several decades now, the most affluent nation on earth has been paying exorbitant prices for the layered look and torn jeans of the homeless and now many hair styles look like we had to run out of the salon before they finished cutting or combing our hair. I am finally “in.” How in the world did that happen?
I am probably insane. (Do NOT comment, Norman adult children.)
I bought eggs and all sorts of dyes with glitter to decorate them this Saturday when our granddaughters are coming. I’ve always threatened to glitter the dust bunnies, so how appropriate is this for Easter! If we spill glitter I’ll just blow it around and decorate the dust bunnies. I bought some cool plastic eggs with wrapped candies to fit inside them and hide out side if it’s pretty or in the apartment, if not. Works either way. Because then when I get hungry for sweets, I might actually sweep under the furniture looking for those the girls missed. A win-win.

I also, bought quite a few Easter Breads like cinnamon rolls and hot cross buns for our gathering at church after the Easter service. The girls can have some, then we can take the rest to church.
We took sandwiches from our Church’s Holy Week luncheon this past Monday to the financially desperate families that live in one room without kitchens at a cheap motel near us. The children scarfed them down, but looked longingly for some sweets. So, we plan to gather the extra Easter Breads to take to them after church. Hopefully, we won’t send anyone into a diabetic coma.

I have a good heart. And I’m very good with theories, particularly ones that can’t be proven or disproven. But as I have been sharing, I am pretty oblivious to the physical world around me and not terribly practical. I used to visit people in the nursing home regularly, taking sweets to people that turned out to be diabetic. Once, after standing next to a woman’s bed chatting for a while, I realized that I was standing on her oxygen line.

As you might guess, I’m not a very good cook, but my vegetable soup was very popular with the homeless at Room in the Inn at our church. I do realize that they may not have gourmet palates, but usually people who are sick also seem to enjoy it.
Well most of the time anyway. Once, I had a couple of sick friends and a family who had lost their grandmother, so I made a huge pot. As I was about to divide it up, I heard of a couple of other families in crisis, whom it might help. So, I stretched it with some tomato juice, beef broth, and water and took it to all of them. Well, when we had the cup or two left over for our dinner, I discovered that “stretched” wasn’t the appropriate word. It was more like “depleted.” It had almost no taste at all. I choose to think of it as a backwards miracle of soup being turned into water.
Wishing you all a Happy Easter with or without glitter.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on April 13, 2017, in Humor, Truth in humor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Your “perils” are delightful. Happy Easter, Eileen.

    • Happy Easter to you also. My husband’s health took an abrupt turn for the worse and we had to cancel
      a full weekend of plans with grown children and grandchildren and our faith community and some ministry to those living in desperate circumstances.
      But we got him onto antibiotics and steroids in time and he is breathing easily again and is coughing less.
      It being Good Friday helps me put things into perspective. After reading Anne Lamott’s face book post today, I had a realization. The feelings so many of us are experiencing in our current political chaos; helplessness, fear for the future, a sense of the devaluing of humanity are expressed so well in the old African American spirituals. They have been here, done this, and were able to persevere because of their faith. I think I will go on I-tunes and see if I can find some to listen to and reflect on today.

      • send you and your hubby my very best: health, quick & complete recovery… courage, strength and inner peace, now and always… heartfelt thoughts and positive vibes, Mélanie Bedos

      • I’m so sorry your husband’s health canceled your Easter plans. glad to hear he is improving. Yes, the African Americans spirituals undergird our faith. I went to a friend’s family Seder. We ate the ritual foods and read together the ancient words. I thought of my Jewish friends and their historic sufferings remembered that night.

  2. Such a heartwarming post Eileen. Love the way you write about your bangs and your haircut. How wonderfully generous and thoughtful you are to help others in need. Bless you!
    Peta

  3. Happy Easter and I wish you all the best!

Leave a Reply

