Christian Paradoxes

For all of you who aren’t sure, it is possible to be gay and Christian. It’s also possible to believe in God and science. It is possible to be pro-choice and anti-abortion.
It is equally possible to be a feminist and love and respect men. It’s possible to have privilege and be discriminated against, to be poor and have a rich life, to not have a job and still have money.
It is possible to believe in sensible gun control legislation and still believe in one’s right to defend one’s self, family, and property, it’s possible to be anti-war and pro-military.
It is possible to love thy neighbor and despise his actions. It is possible to advocate Black Lives Matter and still be pro police. It is possible to not have an education and be brilliant. It is possible to be Muslim and also suffer at the hands of terrorists. It is possible to be a non-American fighting for the American dream.
It is possible to be different and the same.
We are all walking contradictions of what “normal” looks like.
Let humanity and love win.

This is a quote for which I am trying to find the original author. Will post their name when I find it.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on March 21, 2017, in B4Peace, evolution, faith, Gay marriage, Jesus, Judging, Justice, Love, Paradox, Political, prejudices, Saved by grace and not by law, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Really good. Thanks.

    Are you feeling better now? I’ve been praying for you. At least your back should be fixed and all the discomfort will be worth it I think the lesson of old age is patience. Like it or not, God’s determined we learn it before we die –one way or the other!

    Love you, Myra

    • I have a good day and over do and so have a down day. Never learn 🙂
      The fibro is the major problem and since it now makes my shoulder repair painful, I’m
      pretty sure it will do the same for the back surgery. But the shoulder pain is not debilitating,
      so I’m hoping the back pain will not slow me down much. It’s going to take a while, because
      I’ve been limited in my walking for so long, I’m having to build muscle back. I’m optimistic
      even though I’m probably going to have to have knee replacements. I wouldn’t mind all this as
      much if they knew how to replace my memory!!! How are you? How are your family?

  2. Eileen, I’m so sorry to hear about your pain. Best wishes for surgery and rehab in the coming weeks. I completely agree with your post. Thanks for the affirmation that we can live out the paradoxes. ❤

    • Thanks for the feedback and the caring. I’m three weeks after the surgery and only taking Tylenol now, so hope to drive tomorrow and get out and about. I feel like a caged lion! Or may a restless bobcat 🙂

Leave a Reply

