Watch for It and Pass It On.

When in my fifties, I was confined to a wheel chair. Sometimes even the weight of a sheet on my feet caused me excruciating pain. I lived way out in the woods and my driveway was a challenge to anyone fond of their car’s muffler. It was a difficult time.
But, two new friends began to come to see me twice a week, bringing lunch and sweets and laughter and even taking me places in my wheelchair. Each Christmas we did a shopping day at Cool Springs Mall, starting with a macadamia nut cookie, shopping, then lunch at Red Lobster, more shopping and a lush caramel cappuccino to cap the day off. By the end of the day, my wheel chair and I were buried under packages.
Soon our nephew brought me a computer and he and my granddaughter taught me to use it, so I was connected to the whole world, as I sat watching a doe with her fawn playing outside my window.
About then, I also watched a Canadian movie called, Strangers in Good Company, which helped me realize that I had all the best things in life: love, friends, nature and a connection to the outside world.
A few years after that, a son that worked for an airline started taking me and my husband to Europe every year. I spent months researching and planning our trips on the computer. Once there, my husband and son pushed me up steep cobblestone streets, down paths in the woods on mountains, and through the amazing storage areas of art museums like the Louvre, that weren’t easily accessible. There were challenges and limits, but again such wonderful experiences that there was no way I could feel underprivileged. Once we accept our circumstances, even our limits, we discover a flood of blessings all around us.

Then a new medicine became available that controlled my problem enough to allow me to walk reasonable distances on my own.  About then one of my friends moved away and the other became crippled and in a wheelchair.  So, we recruited my teen aged granddaughter to help us stay mobile.  When helping someone in a wheelchair have adventures, it’s best to have a pusher and a door holder.

Miraculously an arts and science center was built in our small town and the next ten years were filled with marvelous art, pottery, and music classes and both professional and community theater. So, I got to return the kindness of my friend until she died.

Soon God brought other women into my life, including the friend that moved away, who had become home bound.   I have been able to help free them as my friends and granddaughter did me.

Whatever your situation,  watch for the love of God in it and watch for a way to pass it on.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on November 4, 2016, in blessings, Gifts of Age, Love, rebirth, relationships, spirituality, Suffering, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Blessings and gifts and grace a-plenty. Kindness abounds and it is lovely to be able to pass it on.

  2. Plenty food for thought here. Especially this one:
    “Once we accept our circumstances, even our limits, we discover a flood of blessings all around us.”

    • There’s usually something we need to learn involved. Once we really “get” it, there’s a good chance we get
      free of the circumstances and can move on.

Leave a Reply

