Dirty Little Old Ladies Should Get to Have Fun Too

Well, they’ve ruined my physical therapy now. All us old and lame had bonded and developed a sense of community as fellow sufferers who all now come in generous sizes and slightly lumpy shapes. Yesterday they started testing young male job applicants’ physical fitness for a local industry. So, here we old folks are gasping and sweating (and farting), while struggling to bend over two inches below waist level and these young hunks are flat handing the floor. I think I was two the last time I could flat hand the floor. If I was able to be invisible, I might actually enjoy watching them. (Dirty little old ladies should get to have fun too.) But realizing that I might be the cause of someone never marrying, because they were prematurely exposed to what a prospective wife might look and “sound” like at seventy-nine, is too much guilt to bear. So I deny myself the pleasure of the debate between pecs and buns and do my exercises with my eyes closed, pretending if I can’t see them, they can’t see me.

(I apologize to the readers who follow me for my “spiritual” posts. But I personally think being a slightly raunchy great-grandmother and being spiritual are not mutually exclusive.)

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on June 4, 2016, in Gifts of Age, Humor, Spiritual, Truth in humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Go Eileen, you enjoy it! You have brought joy to two old gits in hiding from the Sydney storms

    • Sorry about the storms. My brother’s land in Texas has been under water twice in the last month or so. His house is on stilts, so
      it was okay, but the car was totaled. Hope you gits are okay and glad to bring a little joy….

  2. I love that you’re a raunchy grandmother Eileen and it will do those young men good to see that you can still be active when you’re older!

  3. As long as there is life in the girl… 😉 What a gem you are Eileen and even if you can’t flat handle the floor anymore, your mind is very flexible and it serves you well. Bisous et câlins, Léa

Leave a Reply

