up jumped the devil! but when there is love……….

can’t type caps much right now….last week i was carrying some laundry down the hall and managed to trip over a ladder back chair and throw myself full force, right shoulder cap first into a door jam! surgery scheduled for 2/22/16. need a what? reverse shoulder replacement? i picture me with my right arm on backward! 🙂 a nightmare week reminiscent of several levels of Dante’s Inferno……..another week still to go….then six more weeks with Dante…six months to almost full recovery. doctor sadly warned me i would never be able to reach the top kitchen cabinets again. i laughed! i was sitting in a wheel chair, so he didn’t realize at five foot tall, i’ve never been able to reach them. frankly, i’d be scared to see in them!
and though this has been one of the most physically painful weeks of my life, i have never felt so tenderly and totally loved. i know there are many many unsung heroes care giving elderly or ill spouses and i believe they, like my seventy-nine year old husband, are right up there with mother Theresa in deserving a nobel prize.
After all she got a face to face encounter with God to lure her into caregiving….not having had that i can’t claim to be able to compare that to what lured my husband into this situation. hmmmm…..on a scale of one to ten…..face to face with God or 50+ years of good nooky, but not so hot cooking? I won’t push my luck by putting that question to my husband, until i can manage the bathroom on my own. 🙂

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on February 14, 2016, in Love, Paradox, relationships, Sex, Spiritual, Suffering, Total Humiliation, Truth in humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Wonderful to have caring people looking out for you. Hope all goes well. xxoo❤️

  2. impressive and emotional post… ❤ speakin' of Dante, last month in Venice(Italy), we had a rental apartment next to one of his statues… 🙂 I wish you my very best: health, joy and long life together!!!
    * * *
    @" I won’t push my luck by putting that question to my husband, until i can manage the bathroom on my own. 🙂 " – your statement has reminded me of my mother-in-law(she's 85) who's been in a wheel-chair for almost 3 years, while my father-in-law(87) is physically valid, but his memory falters more and more… they've been together for 62 years and in a medical nursing home since July 2013… 15'-drive from our place, so we visit them several times/week.

  3. Eileen
    Take the best care..go easy!

    Big hugs..not too painful, i hope

    john

    • ouch! no hugs…even virtual ones scare me!! 🙂 thanks for the kind thoughts…. we persevere…. this too will pass…
      and all that pap! the goodie for this baddie is i have some very fine cooks among my friends, so we are eating well…the baddie is
      they are my age and getting frequent part replacements also, so i am starting to search the internet for easy recipes when i need to return their kindness! they are probably tired of my limited repertoire of four or five safe bets.

      • @”no hugs…even virtual ones scare me!!” – I agree with you and I understand your point, as I NEVER send hugs to virtual people – I’ve never met in real life…
        * * *
        bonne santé, Eileen!

  4. I think we take turns being “unseen heroes”. Sometimes our spouse cares for us and sometimes we care for our spouse. But either way, we grow in love and that’s what it’s all about.

  5. You’re so wonderful.
    I’ve taken great pleasure in meeting you.
    You have such an impressive strength, Faith, humor, and determination that I admire so much.
    I also enjoy reading your blogs. They have given me insight as well as many things to ponder over.
    Keep writing. ❤

Leave a Reply

