The Adventures of Nanu and Granddaughters Bella and Emma

When Bella was four and Emma was eight, Nanu used to take them to the marvelous Adventure Science Museum. This is Nanu’s account of one day of adventures there.

Yesterday was a learning experience for all three of us with lots of delights, but some challenges.
I learned that Bella has outgrown riding on my walker through the Adventure Science Museum and has become adventurous enough to disappear quickly through tunnels, and slides and climbing things to other “levels.”
I felt sick with terror when I realized she had disappeared.  Fortunately, Emma can climb those same things and found her fairly quickly. Since Bella didn’t know she was lost, she was just happily exploring new things.
I also learned that Emma is smarter than I am. When I got upset with Bella, Emma said, “Nanu, Bella doesn’t understand, ‘Level.’ You should have said, ‘Don’t go up or down.”
I also learned that I can no longer do two very physical days in a row, so the great adventure was shorter than the more energetic two would have liked.
But still, Emma, wearing a harness, got to “fly” like Peter Pan and feel weightless like our Astronauts and Bella got over her fears of the darkness and learned to love the enchanting “star room” as much as Emma and I do.
And this old lady learned a lot about her own limits.  Grandchildren are not only the greatest joys in our lives, they are also great teachers.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on January 21, 2016, in fear, grandchildren, Humor, Parenting, Teaching/Learning Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What a loving and thoughtful grandmother you are, Eileen. Thanks for sharing this adventure!

    • Since my last child was ten years younger than my first, the youngest of my grandchildren are 7 and 11, while I have great-grandchildren already 19 and 15. Lately my energy and stamina are noticeably depleted. It has been saddening me that I just can’t do what I enjoyed most any more. So, I am beginning to revisit the memories to recapture the joy and write about them to preserve them for when even the memories fade.
      Thanks for your kind response. I enjoy your wonderful insights and also dancing vicariously through you. That was once the way I expressed my feelings.

Leave a Reply

