Letter to Politicians on Four Issues Relating to Anti-gay Marriage Resolutions

1. I believe freedom for and from religion are the same thing. As a “born again” Christian in America, I want to protect that legal freedom.

2. Homosexuality runs in families. It isn’t a choice. I had a great-great aunt that became a pediatrician in the late 1800’s and established a health clinic for the poor. She was our family’s best kept secret, because she lived with the same woman all her life. I have a kind and deeply spiritual brother who has been in a 25 year monogamous relationship with another man. I have a son, who with his partner of 17 years, teaches at an orphanage for children born HIV positive in Cambodia.

3. The most important thing in my life is my relationship with Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord. I want all people to have the chance to accept the unconditional love of God expressed in Jesus as Savior, so He can truly become their Lord. But I think history shows that making people be nominal Christians by law, violence, fear, family tradition or cultural pressure doesn’t accomplish that.  Jesus died for sinners and He spoke against judging others more than any other sin.

4. Having been married to the same man for 57 years, I have come to believe that marriage is the institution designed by God to not just populate the world, but to challenge, teach and enable us to learn to love another imperfect human being up close long enough to love them as they really are. (Admittedly, some people need more practice than others, but it is still our best bet.) I want that choice for all people. I do not want to limit any people by law to promiscuity or deceit in order to experience human love.

I realize that the way that I have come to understand faith in the love of God is not necessarily shared by all Christians. The freedom for that diversity of how our faith is lived out is part of what I am wanting to protect. But, I also understand that you are elected officials who live with the tension between what your conscience says and what your electorate wants.
All I ask is that you seriously consider all sides, and if you are a person of prayer, that you will prayerfully listen to the many ways God speaks to our minds and hearts.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on January 17, 2016, in faith, forcing Christianity on others., Gay marriage, historical perspective, homosexuality, Jesus, Judging, Love, Political, Prayer, relationships, Saved by grace and not by law, Spiritual, spiritual growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Eileen
    i enjoyed reading this. As a pagan i don’t share your beliefs
    but i always find it interesting how others think and what their values are; that, for me, is what makes the world worthwhile.

    Big Hugs

    john

    • All my pagan friends are Wiccas. You are my first male pagan acquaintance! I’d love to hear more of how you think and your values. I confess, I stressed my born-again Christian side because I knew that “Christians” are the ones locally that are trying insanely to repeal the gay-marriage act. I truly think America is having a mid-life crises or a nervous breakdown.
      My spiritual journey has been diverse to say the least and I have sifted through many different sources and kept what works for me.
      I can relate to almost anyone as long as they can tolerate other beliefs than their own. I’m so disillusioned with mainline Christian religions that I’m embarrassed to call myself a Christian. But the person of Jesus has held up through the test of time for me, so I nurture that relationship while exploring many avenues of thought and experience. Fun to have sources of diverse thinking. Thanks for reading my rants.

    • same here, John, even though I’m not a pagan, but a Darwinian-Cartesian who tries to observe the 10 commandments of the Native Americans – they all make sense to me… 🙂

  2. “….. I have come to believe that marriage is the institution designed by God to not just populate the world, but to challenge, teach and enable us to learn to love another imperfect human being up close long enough to love them as they really are. (Admittedly, some people need more practice than others, but it is still our best bet.) I want that choice for all people. I do not want to limit any people by law to promiscuity or deceit in order to experience human love.”

    So well said and I’m not religious at all.

Leave a Reply

