Hubris Three : Unless You Come as a Child

Re posting this set of three posts: Hubris 1, 2 and 3 in response to some posts I read today that I liked.

Laughter: Carbonated Grace

I have two previous posts titled Hubris One and Hubris Two. This one, Hubris Three, will make more sense, if the others are read first.
In Hubris One and Two I describe my spiritual journey during my twenties: of rejecting my childhood faith, a period of settling for pleasure in hedonism, an unsuccessful search for  God in Religious Institutions, a search for purpose and meaning through working for civil rights, and then seeking a way to change hearts and minds, not just laws, by getting a degree in psychology, then recognizing that psychology also had serious limits, since most people don’t admit they need to change.
About this time, one of the couples in our social group began to talk and act strangely. Judy and Earl began to drink less, dance with each other, and finally to our horror, would mention Jesus Christ, as if he were someone they knew…

View original post 1,412 more words

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on November 29, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I enjoyed reading your journey from start to finish.

    This struck me:

    “We come into the circle of God’s love in different places with our unique histories and patterns and personalities. Don’t ever try to put God into a box . . .”

    • It took me a while to recognize that saying the prayer would not necessarily be a dramatic turning point
      for everyone like it was for me. I can look back and see how God was working in my life beforehand to bring me to that
      moment. We are all different and even though God may be the same, because of our differences the relationship will
      grow and be different for many, though similar for some. Timing is a key also. God is working in our lives even
      when we are running from Him. Thanks be! I’m going to do a post about some of the differences after people have read my latest.

Leave a Reply

