What Number Spells Success?

Creative people often fall short in the area of persevering. I think  we fear if we finish something and put it out there for acceptance and it’s rejected, we will have to face our greatest fear: “We are not good enough.”

The truth is no one is “good” enough for everyone. Flannery O’Conner and Margaret Atwood depress me. But the popular romance novelists bore me.

I’m having to face that I am not a great significant writer, but unfortunately I’m not superficial enough to be popular either. And I don’t have a tiny fraction of the talent of my favorite writer, Anne Lamott.

Although I would certainly love to make some money and I would greatly enjoy feeling successful, the truth is what I mostly want is to share what I’ve learned in seventy-eight years that I value deeply.

And there have been times when I’ve gotten feedback that I blogged or shared something that I’ve written that has spoken to someone else’s condition. It didn’t save them from pain or ever making mistakes or change the direction of their life, but for a moment in time they either didn’t feel alone or they saw something in a new way that was meaningful for them. I do think there are probably others out there that I will never know about that respond to what I share.

The question for me then is: How many people does it take to make it worth the struggle and time spent writing and risking being told that I am not good enough?

Dear fellow writers, the answer both scares and frees me.

I’m pretty sure the person I most try to follow would say. “One.”

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on November 6, 2015, in Creativity, Failure, fear, hope, Jesus, Success, Writers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. A very interesting offering, Eileen.

    Thank You

    Best always

    john

    • John, I so appreciate your responding. My son teaching in Cambodia echoed your sadness about what is happening.
      I have a grandson teaching now in Bolivia. I’ll be interested hearing about this kind of thing there.
      My life at 78 has been so enriched by the internet at a time when many of my friends’ lives are narrowing drastically.
      I delight in connecting with people all over the world, all ages, all nationalities, life styles and interests. How graced I feel.

  2. Given your rationale for slugging it out and being vulnerable, I’m going to say the answer to your questtion for you, is one.

    Now, I am asking myself The Question. . .

    • I always look forward to your posts and your comments. Thanks so much for staying connected. You are one of my favorite blog friends. I love that I lived long enough to connect across so many miles and age and cultural differences. My life is so enriched by this at a time when so many people’s lives are narrowing and even bogging down.

  3. Yes, if this impact is not success I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

