Born Anxious with Relapses

Many of us have had physical symptoms for decades without realizing they were caused by anxiety. Sometimes when I watched a rash start and spread before my eyes as I was dealing with a sudden, obvious stressor, I saw the connection between the physical and the emotional. Other times when getting short of breath and feeling like something was squeezing my chest, if I wasn’t in touch with the triggering emotions, I thought I was having a heart attack.
Self-awareness helps, learning calming techniques, learning to laugh at ourselves, and cutting ourselves some slack in certain situations can help. Understanding that many, many people experience physical problems without ever recognizing the emotional triggers, learning to talk ourselves through our fears, finding the right anti-anxiety medicines, all can help when we quit beating ourselves up for being born anxious.
We didn’t choose it, it’s undoubtedly chemical and genetic, it’s way more widespread than anyone realizes, but self-awareness and experimenting to find what helps us can minimize the negative fallout for ourselves and those that love us.
We aren’t to blame, but we are responsible for learning ways to minimize the crippling effects. And I can personally testify that love, joy, delight, pleasure, lots of laughter, worthwhile occupations, concern for others are all possible even for us born worry warts.
PS: The other day, I found a lot of old comic strips I cut out over the years that “spoke to my condition,” letting me know I wasn’t alone, and freeing me to find humor even in my inner chaos: Peanuts, Calvin and Hobbs, The Far Side, Ziggy, Kudzu, Cathy, Zits, Dilbert, Doonesbury,Arlo and Janice, and many more. Laughter is Carbonated Grace.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on May 19, 2014, in Fibromyalgia, Gifts of Age, Healing, Humor, Personality, Suffering, Teaching/Learning Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wise, honest and generous words, my friend. Thank you for sharing your wisdom and your grace, carbonated and otherwise. xxo

  2. Myra Berghane

    Thanks for sharing. I too was born with the worry gene and now in my “golden years” I am really feeling the “rust” instead of the gold. But I also know that working through the pain — physical and mental and spiritual – has brought me closer to God. I can’ yet be grateful for the fibromyalgia, arthritis, pinched back nerve and vertigo, but it could be worse and I’m grateful for that. Most importantly, I know God is with me in all this, which at least gives it some meaning.

    • I can relate. The letting go and trusting God is a way out. But my unconscious seems addicted to worry. Perhaps worrying gives me the illusion
      of control!! Like Oscar the Grouch, I’m still working on my attitude.

Leave a Reply

