adolescent

Sirena Tales

squirming

within my own foreign

erupting and awkward skin

yearning

to be seen

but as another

or better

as myself

(silently)

this time could I be loved?

disheveling

my guise

on the inside

bleeding out

the shifting gaze

the quick tics

distracting haze

me from me

you from me,

I might be

a gazelle

a hawk

a stallion

of my dreams

a champion

I hope I live

to tell

This is for the wonderful students I volunteer to tutor in writing, and all adolescents.  Shine on….

View original post

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on March 24, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for this fantastic share from Sirena Tales! I love this poem, and while it speaks to us all, it is especially apropos how you’ve dedicated it to adolescents. Beautiful.
    Thanks again for this Eileen. Blessings, Gina

  2. thanks for reading……have some teen-age grandkids going through teen-age hell. Thought this might “speak to their condition.”

Leave a Reply

