My Neediness is my Redeeming Grace

I am by nature a dreamer, a thinker, a ponderer of imponderables. Hardly the best recommendations for the mother of five! Once I pray, I do manage to focus during emergencies, so I handle crises pretty well.
But the myriad of trivial challenges that make up practical daily life often throw me into a tailspin. My husband used to make fun of me for praying about what cereals to buy.  But nothing is too small for God.
Being a natural klutz has a lovely upside: I need to pray constantly. I am not only consciously and specifically depending on God in everything, I am then thanking Him just as profusely.
I always get into trouble when I forget or perversely decide I can do ‘it’ myself. But when I remember my knack for screwing up the ordinary and simple, it becomes a blessed way to live…..humbling certainly….but blessed! My needs are my redeeming grace.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on December 27, 2013, in Answered Prayer, Humor, Parenting, Personality, Prayer, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So true! Even klutziness can be blessed – I know! So glad I’m not alone.

    Your fellow klutz

  2. Such a delightful post! I love this truth: Nothing is too small for God. Thank you for sharing this wise post filled with humour and honesty. Hugs, Gina

Leave a Reply

