Manure Tea

Queen of Manure Tea

I’ve mentioned that my husband and I both grew up in cities and that our move to our own hundred acre paradise was a lot like the old TV series, Green Acres. Dreamer that I am, I had a vision of a bountiful garden, horses, chickens, maybe a cow or two.

My husband did not share this vision.

The kids bought into the animals, but not the garden part. But, by using the art of friendly persuasion, threats and bribes, I got them to all pitch in and with the help of neighbors with a tractor and plow, we put in a half acre garden that first spring living in the wilds.

It turns out that all those delightful forest animals the children enjoyed finding and watching, are not a gardener’s friends. We began to learn the fine art of warring with nature. Reading magazines on being earth friendly, I fought the potato slugs with jar lids of beer. Humans are not the only creatures led to their downfall by alcohol. Evil though it may seem, since the beer actually dissolves the slugs, I convinced myself that they died happy.

Unfortunately,since we had an early drought and our garden was not near a water source, the only vegetables to survive were the potatoes. Go figure. My maiden name was O’Leary.

We had mashed potatoes, fried potatoes, baked potatoes, boiled potatoes, hash-brown potatoes, and eventually smelly rotten potatoes.

So the next spring we put in a garden about half that size , closer to a water source.

We did not plant potatoes.

We lost most of the lettuce and carrots to rabbits, but when the drought came, my visiting apartment bred brother got into the back to nature spirit and hauled buckets of water to save the tomatoes. The deer greatly appreciated his efforts.

The third year, I planted a tiny garden right outside our master bedroom’s sliding glass doors, next to a hose bib.  I added shiny tin pie plates and windchimes to discourage nature’s predators lurking in the near-by woods.  I figured that I could stand in my bedroom door in my robe holding a hose to water the cucumber, tomatoes, and carrots.

Still reading my nature friendly magazines, I used their recipe for a free safe fertilizer, called manure tea, made by steeping fresh horse manure in buckets of water.

Unfortunately, I didn’t think about our house having huge attic fans and walls of sliding glass doors instead of airconditioning. Fermented manure tea spread all around outside our bedroom quickly made rotting potatoes seem like perfume.

Though our tiny garden produced gigantic cucumbers and tomatoes and enough of everything for us, our neighbors, city friends, and all the deer and rabbits within miles, a week of sleeping in midsummer heat with all the windows and doors closed, also fermented a rebellion among my family. That’s when we decided that it wasn’t going to be our hundred acre farm. It was going to be our hundred acre weed and rock sanctuary.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on March 26, 2013, in Humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I hate gardening. It just makes more sense to me to support the local farmers at their market.

  2. That was a delightful story.

  3. Ah, they say there is always a right and wrong way and manure tea when brewed right brings success to the garden without the smell and unpleasantness you experienced http://www.manuretea.com

  4. Reblogged this on Laughter: Carbonated Grace and commented:

    Another memory resurrected.

  5. I just loved reading about your ‘struggle’ to keep your dream alive and your eventual resignation…. sometimes peace is to be treasured more than the perfect garden 😉

Leave a Reply

