A New Beginning in Forgiveness

I have been alienated from someone important to me for two years.
Everytime I tried to forgive, I just relived the hurt and injustice, and my resentment grew stronger and more entrenched.
Yesterday, I finally looked at it from a different viewpoint: How could I have handled my hurt in a way that could have given us an opportunity for healing and reconciliation instead of letting this fester into a poisonous wound?
I realized that a lot of harm could have been avoided, if I had been courageous enough to simply go immediately and explain how hurt I was and why.
I hope to do this now, but the conflict set off a chain of events that will now be much harder to heal than it would have been in the beginning.

I want to thank Kozo for his challenge to forgive in his blog, everyday gurus.
.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on March 11, 2013, in B4Peace, Forgiveness, Healing, Love, relationships, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That’s awesome, Eileen. As I said in my post about forgiveness, I think it’s the most difficult act Christ asks of us.

  2. Eileen, the forgiveness is already done. ” I also need prayers for the grace to outgrow my need to feel important that makes me inclined to overreact to slights and criticisms and to remember that being loving is more important than being right.” You have already been blessed by grace and wisdom. Thank you for your honesty and courage. {{{Hugs}}} kozo

    • Thanks Kozo. I do know God has forgiven me. But this is a pattern I’ve recognized in the past and when I see it in time to pray for grace, I can avoid it. Somehow, this time I was blindsided, and there was collateral damage. I do forgive myself, because I know that with grace I have grown in this area. But, I really believe in the power of collective prayer and I feel a need for it as I try for reconciliation.

  3. I admire your courage and will be praying for you.

    • Thanks. I’ve just begun the process and am feeling a bit shakey about it. Think I am following God’s breadcrumb trail……hope so. How are you and yours?

  4. Thanks, Eileen. I think we all need more Grace. I know I do. Thankfully there’s no shortage. 😉

Leave a Reply

