Rediscovering my Muskrat Ramble Self

The challenges of old age and the feeling that time is running out have tended to bring out my sadder, wiser self.

The other day I watched a movie, A Little Bit of Heaven, and glory be, there was my old New Orleans’ French Quarter Self, just dancing like crazy to Dixieland bands. And remembering and loving the diversity of the French Quarter: black Dixieland bands, the St. Louis Cathedral, drag queens, street corner evangelists, jazz and blues drifting out of clubs into the street,  pirate  hangouts, like Jean Lafitte’s blacksmith shop, Antoine’s, Brennans, Antiques Stores, Rock and Weed Shops, the Cabildo, where slaves were once auctioned, tourists of every shape and size from Kansas to Japan, a clump of Baptist Sunday school teachers, huddled together for protection from all that blatant humanity,walking so closely knit that they looked glued together, nuns in traditional habits, Voodoo artists hawking their luminous paintings and potions.

I love it! I love it! I love it!   All of it.

This is US,  people……this wondrous, awful, frightening, lost, saved, becoming, struggling humanity; one and all beloved by a God so huge, complex, and awesome that He/She cannot be fathomed, only experienced and celebrated.

Taste and see the Goodness!

The same movie gave me my funeral….out doors, Dixieland band playing When the Saints Go Marchin In, Swing Low Sweet Chariot, St. Louie Woman, and you got it, Muskrat Ramble.   Lots and lots of balloons, yellow flowers, wine, cappuccino, po-boys, shrimp, french bread, and everybody dancing.

I may need to have this before I die, so I get to enjoy it too.

It sounds weird, but I am excited about my funeral.

And I am so enjoying my old Muskrat Ramble self.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on February 27, 2013, in Gifts of Age, Humor, Love, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I don’t remember New Orleans quite the way you do. Maybe that’s a good thing. Don’t see myself in a funeral procession there….yet.

  2. You have more life and happiness in spite of the “grave” subject, than a lot of people do discussing the good times. You exude a joyful acceptance and appreciation of the differences in people. I would like to come to the party!

Leave a Reply

