To My Children

This is a poem written by my best friend in highschool and college. We’ve kept up with each other for sixty-three years across the miles between Connecticutt and Tennessee.
Our journeys have been amazingly similar in the things that count, like family and spirituality. I have saved her letters and her writings from all the way back to highschool. I was reorganizing my files and found this and it touched my heart.

 

To My Children
I gave you life,
I gave you love: or tried to.
Sometimes I gave you pain.
The scars you carry still.
Because of my own wounds, I wounded you.

I wanted you to know God loved you;
But often my faith was feeble
As a candle
Flickering in the darkness –
And so you had too little light.

Sometimes I gave you much too much.
Sometimes my well was dry.
I gave you dung and dirt, sun and rain;
The things all flowers need
To live, to grow.

All that I gave you, good and bad,
Is yours.
I cannot take it back.
The soil is tilled; the seed is sown.
The rest is up to you, dear child.

Choose life
or death.

Whatever road you take,
I wish you joy and peace and courage.
My prayers are with you
Always.
And my love.

Your mother.

(Myra Berghane)

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on February 26, 2013, in Gifts of Age, Love, Parenting, Spiritual and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow, Eileen. You are blessed with amazing friends. This poem is so honest that the love seeps through even the sad parts. I love the lines “I gave you dung and dirt, sun and rain;
    The things all flowers need
    To live, to grow.”
    We can’t be perfect as parents, but maybe perfection is not what our children need from us.
    Thank you for sharing this piece. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

Leave a Reply

