Messages from God

I’ve never gotten a message from God in a bottle, but I’ve gotten them a lot of other ways. God is amazingly creative in getting His point across.

When our five children were still young, my father-in-law gave us a side of beef every Christmas. One Christmas some friends with seven children were starting a new business and money was in very short supply. So, my husband and I decided to share some of our beef with them.

Now, I had by this time read the Scriptures quite a lot, so I was very familiar with the many times and ways Jesus told us to love others as ourselves,  to share what we have, and even His comparison of the poor woman who gave all she had and the rich man who did not.

But as I loaded a basket with hamburger, pot roasts, and even some round steaks, every time my hand hovered over the sirloin, T bone, and ribeye steaks, I drew it back. I dearly love good steaks and there were many years in my life when I couldn’t afford them. I rationalized that the cheaper cuts would go much further with seven children. So I didn’t share any of the expensive steaks.

The next weekend we went out of town for two days, so I left the garage door up about a foot, so the cat could come and go and get his food. When we returned, all seemed well, until I went to the freezer in the garage to get some meat for dinner. The bottom two shelves, where all the expensive steaks had been, were completely empty. Nothing else was missing.

I got the message.

I asked God’s forgiveness, but I also admitted that I would really, really like to know how He did it.

A couple of days later, a neighbor who lived a block downstream from us on the creek that ran through our back yards, told me excitedly about all the mysterious expensive steaks her dogs were happily devouring in her back yard. Later that same day my next door neighbor mentioned that she had noticed the three year old from across the street crawling in and out of our garage over the weekend.

Evidently frozen steaks make great boats to sail down the creek and only the expensive ones were in her reach.  I was so relieved that the little girl hadn’t gotten trapped in the freezer, that I no longer begrudged anybody, even the dogs, the expensive steaks.

Some years later, the nuns where I taught first and second grade, protested that I needn’t have given them any steaks in their Christmas basket, just hamburger would have been fine. I assured them with great conviction, that I really did need to give them some steaks with their hamburger.

I do get the message eventually.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on February 22, 2013, in Humor, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You’ve given us much food for thought. Thanks. Myra

  2. Loved the lesson. Can certainly relate to steaks!

  3. I suppose this explains why when I take the Kroger cheddar cheese plate to a party, and keep gouda to myself, i always end up with a hamburger with a slice of American cheese on it at my next cookout!

  4. Saw you at open mike night-great job!!!! Love your posts:)

  5. You just never know what God will use. 🙂

Leave a Reply

