Pentecost

Pentecost Sunday just cries for the Spirit,
at least a tongue of fire or two,
or a sweeping wind that blows our minds
free of habit and ritual and rules.
So, I found a little brick church
with the name of Power and Praise.

Well, I started out pretty lively
clapping to drums with hands raised.
I thought I was blending in nicely
for a gray haired Presbyterian.
But, perhaps I should have drunk more coffee,
since after forty minutes, I ran out of steam.

I thought it might be time to sit down,
but then, a lady, who had to be over eighty,
began dancing blissfully in front of the pews.
Smiling and spinning gently around,
she looked so joyful doing this,
I found it hard to resist joining in.

But the music stopped, as we all sat down
for a seventy-five minute sermon
on the deplorable state of the world.
Though it was a bit of a downer,
with most of it I actually agreed,
until the preacher spoke about women,
who wear pants and short hair.
He said women only did this,
so they could attract other women.

That’s when I noticed I was the only woman
in the entire congregation
wearing pants and short hair.
I tried to hunker down low in the pew,
so no one would notice my pants,
but that wasn’t much help with my hair.
Thank God, I hadn’t joined in the dance.

But to give credit where credit is due,
the preacher admitted he’d been wrong before
and he might be wrong once again,
so we all should keep reading the scriptures
to let God, Himself, teach us the truth.
But though I keep searching the bible,
I haven’t found anything there
about women wearing pants or short hair.

I’m pretty sure I didn’t tempt any women,
nor did they me, as a matter of fact.
So, though, I’m a failed Pentecostal,
I probably wouldn’t be a good Lesbian either.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on February 17, 2013, in Humor, Spiritual and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

