Jesus, the Kindergarten God

Prejudices can be peculiarly transitory.

I remember a rather adversarial conversation in my early thirties with an elderly priest of the fire and brimstone persuasion. He finally said angrily, “I’ve been doing this for over forty years.”  And I thought to myself, “Exactly. That’s the problem.”

Now that I’m a senior citizen, I tend to distrust the opinions of anyone under fifty.  It made me nervous that our new insurance agent was about our grandchildren’s age, so I took to calling him the Kindergarten Kid.

One morning while reading the scriptures, I told my husband that if Jesus came back as thirty-something, I’d have a hard time taking him seriously.

My husband quipped, “You mean kind of  like a kindergarten God?”

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on October 31, 2012, in Humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

