Small Town Kindness

Joys of a small town. I needed to get emergency oil to get my car to Nashville Volvo,  which is about fifty miles from here. Went to an auto repair/gas station that I never use.  It took 4 quarts of oil. I had only a credit card and $7. After getting the oil, I discovered they weren’t set up to take credit cards and the bill was $10. The owner said, “No problem, just drop it off when you get a chance.” I pulled out my $7 and he said, “No, I don’t want to leave you without any cash.” I said that I would probably stop by the bank on my way to Nashville.  He said, “Ok, but just call it even with the $7.”

I was dressed up, so I don’t think it was charity, just kindness! I’m headed to the bank and then back there with $3 today.”

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on October 8, 2012, in Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

