A Very Special Lady

Bobbie’s eyes sparkled above her mischievous grin as she rolled up to me, holding out her leg.
“Here, carry this darn thing , will you? It’s been killing me all morning.”
Open mouthed, but speechless, I took her prosthetic leg. We were coming out of the restroom into the main lobby of the Renaissance Center, where people were coming and going to plays and art exhibits and classes.
Bobbie propelled her wheel chair expertly toward the door, smiling at everyone as she stopped to embrace friends with her usual joyful warmth.
I followed behind her, joining in her amazing humorous acceptance of all that life had dealt her, by carrying her leg over my shoulder, like a rifle.
When we reached the car, she swung herself up into the driver’s seat, as I stowed all her transportation aids in the trunk.
“Boy,” she said. “Isn’t it great that I still have my right leg, so I can drive. Let’s celebrate with a cappuccino. My treat.”

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on September 6, 2012, in Humor, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. She was certainly an optimistic person. I can just hear her saying how lucky she was to have right leg. Amazing.

  2. Once again you have proven you are such a good friend!

    • Betty, How are the Bettys? I’m determined we’ll get together soon, but the past few weeks it seems like everyone I know has had surgery and is coming home to an empty house. Klutz that I am, I am better than being alone. At least, I can bring food and call 911 if they fall. Mostly I provide comic relief, which backfires if they have had chest or abdominal surgery. Then it hurts to laugh!

      My friends Bobbie and Barbara came twice a week out to my woods, risking their car mufflers on my long steep rain washed gravel drive, when I was unable to walk. They brought lunch and movies and laughter and kept me from giving up. It’s called “pass it on.” And as far as I’m concerned, it’s people that Jesus was about, not church.

      You had the brains and courage to create organizations to help children with handicaps. I don’t. I can only manage one on one.
      I will never be able to touch as many people’s lives as you already have. Hadley is a prime example. At her birthday party she read all her cards out loud. She initiated conversations, short, but meaningful. That is a miracle that you played a crucial part in.
      Never forget that. The times and challenges may have closed down Seven Gables and caused you great sorrow over a beautiful broken dream, but the good you did will last forever.

Leave a Reply

