The Spirit

At first, it seemed as if God walked
through the garden of my life
on velvet kitten paws,
gifting me with fleet impression
of brushing soft caress,
leaving feather light prints
in the tender earth
of my spirit.

In later times, God climbed
the granite mountain
of my stubborn will,
using painful stake and hobnail boots
to gain each foothold,
bringing about His kingdom
through the thundering voice
of circumstance.

Then, recently, I sensed God lost,
absent on Sabbatical
of undetermined length,
leaving only fading echoes
in my memory.
Until, at last, in desert night
and aching loneliness,
I faced my emptiness.

And discovered Her –
within.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Gifts of Age, Spiritual and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hmmmmm. Nice.

  2. Wow! You should publish that somewhere. Beautiful.

    • Thanks, Myra. It won honorable mention in a poetry contest in Dickson/Nashville about 15 years ago and was published in an anthology the Dickson Writer’s Group put together.
      Getting published takes too much time. Blogging works for me right now. When I run out of blogging material, I might look into getting published.

      I got 4 things published this year in an anthology put out by the Nashville Writer’s Meet Up, called Soundtrack NOT Included. One was Aging Like Fine Wine, then 2 Poems: Borders, and Good Friday God, and a children’s story- The Magical Chinese Scarves.

      Thanks for continuing to read my blog. I’ve been really busy and haven’t written new things for a while. Need to get energized again.

Leave a Reply

