Pouring the Wrong Cup

I follow a blog called Spilling the Happy Cup.com. The author, Jacki, shares simple happy moments in just a few words and photos. Her special rainy Saturday morning meditation had been baking banana bread. I could smell the banana bread, hear the steady rain, and feel the grace of being focused on a simple pleasant task and living in the present moment. Lovely.

Then I had to laugh. I too spent that Saturday morning cooking.  I was trying out a new recipe for a brunch I was having on Sunday. I had a class at noon, so I was feeling pressured for time. I had the ingredients scattered around the counter; beaten eggs, cream, melted butter, grated cheese, browned sausage, and onions. Old age seems to bring on A.D.D., so when my husband asked me where my checkbook was, I pointed to it, and then poured the melted butter into the mixture of sausage, cheese, eggs, and cream.

Unfortunately, the butter was supposed to be used to saute the onions. Of course, I blamed my husband for distracting me.  He quickly disappeared, taking refuge in balancing my bank statement, and considering it karma when he got to tell me I was $40 dollars off.

I debated throwing it all out and starting over.  But the $40 checkbook mistake was not in my favor. The recipe didn’t call for bread, but the day before I had brought home some yummy garlic cheese biscuits from being treated to lunch at the Red Lobster.  It suddenly occurred to me to crumble the leftover biscuits in to absorb the extra grease.  I could cook it and taste it when I got back from class. That way, if it was too horrible, I could go to the store and make it over that night.

Short story, long: it took draining grease off a couple of times during baking, but it was actually edible.  In fact, everyone went back for seconds. Though the two Saturday morning cooking experiences played out very differently, the grace for me was having the biscuits on hand and managing to save the casserole and the money.

Thanks, Jacki, for helping me notice God in both Spilling the Happy Cup and Pouring the Wrong Cup.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on August 26, 2012, in Humor, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wish I had some “cooking” stories to share with you. Well, maybe not….

Leave a Reply

