Another Day, Another Gig. Ho hum. NOT!

Second Gig at The Open Hand

Whoo hoo. Rachel just called. We’re on again tonight for open mike at The Open Hand behind Cat’s Music in Pomona.
Scary, but exciting. Will be using some of my blogs. Not that good at extemporaneous, since I have frequent memory melts on common words and names!

Steve suggested if I do the one that includes references to frequent no warning dashes to the bathroom, that I could run off stage mid-act. I told him I more or less did that last time. When I finished my bit, I went to the bathroom before returning to my seat. When I came out the MC was saying, “Where did she go?” Kind of like the Christine Lotte academy award presentation with her in the bathroom. Well, on a slightly smaller scale……..

Great news, son Steve in Atlanta, now has a blog: http:// http://www.steveisweird.wordpress.com
He says all the good names were taken. Family thought it was the most appropriate. I aided and abetted his entering the blog world, which I may live to regret. He remembers all the family fiascos that I have blotted out and he’s much funnier than I am. Tommy, our computer guruh, may regret helping also, since Steve’s High School English teacher read his essay “Only the Shadow Knows What’s In There” about the state of Tommy’s bedroom to the whole teaching staff. This does not bode well for the family image in the future.
Not that it matters, I think we have collectively pretty well blown that years ago.
One son, unnamed, told a radio audience that his mother always fixed a special dinner for his birthday. When asked what it was, he replied, “Fish sticks and tater tots.” So he is waiting for karma to catch up with him through this blog.
Ahhhh, old lady revenge for teen years. The power of the blog. How sweet it is! Just kidding. I know that he still has access to a larger public than mine!!!

Must go work on my gig. My public awaits. NOT!

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on August 13, 2012, in Gifts of Age, Humor. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good luck! Break a le—–oops, what does a writer break? A pencil? A keyboard? Hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

