God’s Spiritually Challenged

I write often about Christianity being a journey, a process of growing wiser and more loving. Lest, I sound like I think I’ve mastered this, I need to share one of my more recent challenges in my seventies.

Until my sixties, I was a compulsive people pleaser, a gracious Southern phoney, who almost never confronted anyone. At some point, in my last few years, for better or worse, I have become free to be real.  Maybe it’s a stage of life or a change in hormones. Whatever it is, I have become much less tolerant of rude and dangerous drivers.

Recently, in a burst of anger, I tried to make an obscene gesture at a particularly obnoxious driver. Unfortunately, due to lack of experience and an increasingly erratic short term memory, I gave him a “thumbs up” instead.

Frustrated by this, I decided that the next time I would yell obscenities out my car window.

But the following Sunday, the theme of the sermon was, If we are not growing kinder as we age, something is wrong with our Christianity.

Ouch!

I really struggled with this and when the next road test came, I did manage to compromise.   I yelled, “Jesus loves you, but everyone else thinks you’re an idiot.”

Some of us grow more slowly than others. Feel free to pray for me. I may be old, but God isn’t finished with me yet.

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on February 23, 2012, in Humor, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Amazing – I feel the same way! I lost my patience with that last birthday and God hasn’t returned it to me yet.

  2. You crack me up!

  3. Just remember – when in Brazil, never give anyone the ‘OK’ symbol by making a circle with your thumb and forefinger!

  4. “Jesus loves you, but everyone else thinks you’re an idiot.” Love it! I have felt the same way many times.

  5. Chuckle chuckle chuckle.
    I love the way you write.
    Thanks so much for choosing to follow our blog. I hope you enjoy the stories of our journey. And don’t be a stranger – come on over and join the conversation.
    Blessings
    Alison

    • I get caught up in survival and neglect my lovely pleasure of living long enough to connect with
      all kinds of interesting people sharing their journeys….often literally….At 78 we have slowed down a bit,
      but are hoping to go to the South of France this fall. Meantime, I will travel vicariously with all my internet friends.
      Thanks for checking out my blog. It’s pretty much of a study in contrasts. Something for everyone, but not everything for anyone.

Leave a Reply

