A Change in Priorities

A joke about seniors illustrates very clearly how our priorities change as we age. Since I am currently re-evaluating what priorities are still within my skill set, this seemed like a timely re-post. 🙂

A senior citizen, who normally rode the Senior Center Bus on their outings, hadn’t shown up for several months.  Then, one morning he showed up again.

Sam, his co-bus rider and pool playing buddy at the center, after being assured that Jim hadn’t been ill or out of town, asked him why he hadn’t been around lately.

“Well, I’ve met a lady at church and we’re going to get married. I came today to ask you to be my best man.”

“My goodness, sure I will. That’s great news. Tell me about her. Is she good looking?”  Sam asked excitedly.

“Um, well, no, not really,” Jim replied hesitantly.

“Well, at our age that’s not as important as it used to be,” Sam assured him. “I bet she’s a real good cook.”

“Actually, she’s kind of a Kraft macaroni and cheese cook,” Jim said, shrugging.

“Oooh boy. You lucky son of a gun! I bet she must be hot to trot then. A between the sheets kinda gal?” Sam laughed, slapping his friend on the back.

Blushing and looking down at the floor, Jim mumbled, “She doesn’t seem very interested in sex.”

“Well, why in the world are you marrying her?” Sam exclaimed.

Jim looked up smiling, “She can drive.”

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven, 1955 -1959 Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-seven years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on February 22, 2012, in Gifts of Age, Humor, Love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Laughter: Carbonated Grace and commented:

    A timely subject as I do some soul searching on accepting some new limits as I age.

    • My main asset to several of my friends right now is that I can still drive, even the fifty miles on the interstate to and in Nashville traffic. They are home bound and I take them out every week to lunch, Scripture class, Book club, shopping or to Doctor’s appointments. I can only take two at a time because even my station wagon can only hold three walkers and three people at a time! My right knee being seriously painful endangers that. I also have to drive to the other side of Nashville to pick up my granddaughters to bring them to spend the weekend. The younger generations of mothers, daughters, church goers all work. It has changed the dynamics of family life. Being able to drive is the hardest thing to give up as we age, particularly in small towns or rural areas without public transportation.

  2. Love it, Eileen! And how wonderful of you to help all of those folks keep the key elements of human connection and inspiration on their lives. Thank you for sharing your wisdom–including the humorous kind. xxo

  3. I still love how you crack me up even though the truth of how men seeing the virtues of women in such a limited and narrow way kinda bites.

    And You’re waaaaaay more special than the sum of your driving skills and your stellar humor suggests you suspect this.

    Eleanor Roosevelt had some quote about being useful because she wouldn’t be as loved or wanted for not being beautiful. What a terrible thing for women of such a life devotion to service to have to feel absorb or endure from the patriarchal-tradition… okay, i went heavy…

    And I really did laugh out loud reading the punch line… so what I want to say is, peace and love to you, you brilliant beautiful kind funny woman.

    Tabby

    • When young, to be very honest or perhaps cynical, I believe we marry for different reasons, but not because we love. Love takes a lot of growing into.
      About eight of my widow friends nursed their husbands through prolonged (5 year) terminal illnesses, mostly from cancer. Though they have been alone for quite a while and would enjoy companionship, at our age the likelihood of going through that again with someone you care about is terrifying. We romanticize love, we trivialize love, we idealize love. In reality we learn to love inch by inch, one day at a time, mixed in with days when we want to run for the hills. It is not a fairy tale, but since learning to love is the purpose of life, it’s worth the struggle. And there are those moments when you experience the love of God through your bond with your spouse and know a taste of heaven.
      Now I got heavy! 🙂 The best parts of growing old together are the laughter and the tenderness.

      • Naw, not heavy… Eileen, you went deep. Thanks for sharing that with me. My friend’s mom in her 70’s just found “love” and she said it was the first time… and this is good… but my friend realized there was a loveless marriage that produced her… and that insight caused many of the problems growing up, so the bittersweet part of life is infinite.

        I myself am spouseless… and have no comprehension of marriage after a divorce as I got hitched too young to a musician who stayed drunk and traveled so much he basically never came home. (Not meaning to be a downer at all, just a point of reference. I’m learning to love myself better than what happened… and having that be my success and not my failure. It was lonely being married.)

        But back to the present reality: I love your ability to make people laugh and the love you share Eileen. And you know…Tenderness is a pretty word… I feel like I never “heard” it before now for some reason…

        xo,
        tabs

Leave a Reply

