The Narrow Gate

My memories collide with one another
congesting into
higgley-piggley log jams
in my mind

Complexity clutters my understanding
and confusions of cobwebs
cling to my bold
broken dreams

Creativity thickens and congeals
dwindling into small
fallow pools clotted with
frustration

Idols of old truths and securities
slam against a wall
of Thomas doubt and
Judas fear

Softly, a voice within warns me,
“Narrow gate ahead.
You must not be afraid
to let go.”

Now, in this present moment,
I must trust my inner Spirit
to transform even this
suffering

Her woman’s deep compassion
to turn my empty heart-
my desert- fertile with
her tears.

eon 1991

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-five years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on March 10, 2014, in evolving, Gifts of Age, Spiritual, Suffering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. One of your best poems. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers

