Coming Apart and Getting It Back Together Again

I am paraphrasing some quotes that have proven true in my life:

Personal change and spiritual growth cannot happen without coming to peace with pain. (Michael Singer)

Emptiness and despair are not only experienced by those who have been traumatized, but also by those whose lives are full.

More than grief or fear, despair calls us to pay attention to and make meaning out of human suffering. It invites us to change our very selves by changing the way we see the world. When we persevere and don’t run away from our dark night, we can be moved to a muscular faith that has looked into the heart of darkness and emerged to affirm life. (Miriam Greenspan)

Twice over 76 years my inner life has come apart at the seams for no outwardly obvious reasons. I stayed functional, but slowed down my pace while I worked through it. Each time a counselor mostly just provided a safety valve and a non- judgemental listener, so I could hear myself as I read some relevant books, sorted out my pieces, threw some away, found new truths, new strengths, and pulled it all back together for a still imperfect, but more meaningful and personally satisfying way of being in the world. As painful and scary as these times were, they yielded wonderful fruit and I do not regret going through them. I don’t think I’m inferior because I needed that process. Everyone has challenges that they either struggle to conquer or they choose to deny and to settle for a safer, but emotionally and spiritually, poorer life. Eileen

(The Singer and Greenspan quotes were found on the Blog: Make Believe Boutique

About Eileen

Mother of five, grandmother of eleven, great-grandmother of seven Rice University in Houston, TX. Taught primary grades; Was Associate Post Director of Religious Education at Ft. Campbell, KY; Consultant on the Myers/Briggs Type Indicator; Presently part time Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper for Architect husband of fifty-five years. Blog: Laughter: Carbonated Grace

Posted on February 19, 2014, in evolving, Gifts of Age, Healing, Personality, Spiritual, Suffering, Teaching/Learning Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Bravo and Amen! Thanks.

  2. I just wandered onto your blog and like it very much. “I stayed functional but slowed down my pace while I worked through it” speaks volumes; and your description of your healing process is helpful to all of us who, from time to time, feel a bleakness of spirit for our own reasons. Wise folks like you and my Aunt Beulah can be so helpful at these times.

  3. Inferior-You?! Quite the contrary, Eileen, as your posts reflect a very strong, courageous, soulful human being. Thank you for your lovely work. Xo

  4. p.s. LOVE the name of your blog–happy to follow.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

